Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

January 1, 2011

Three Countries I’d Like to Visit: Sweden, Germany, & France


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

THREE COUNTRIES I’D LIKE TO VISIT:

SWEDEN, GERMANY, & FRANCE

     The first “prompt” in the 2011 DailyPost challenge by WordPress.com, this blog’s host site, was to list three countries I’d like to visit (and why). I decided to accept the prompt because it ties in with my research into genealogy and my further research into the background of my historical romance novel, Intertwined Love.

     I would like to visit Sweden  because my grandmother, Ida Victoria Berg, emigrated from there when she was 14 years old. 

     (After posting this piece, I received the following e-mail:

     I read your worldpressblog about Ida. I like it and I try to send a photo I found , to your blog,but I couldn´t.

     I find a photo from Göteborg 1905, perhaps same ship Ida Victoria Berg entered?? I  like the photo and shared  it to you.

     From Ann Åberg)

          I  will gladly add it to the post for Ann:

     Due to my parent’s divorce, my sister and I were “divorced” from my paternal relatives. I remet my aunt, Nyllis Cornell Gardner, when I was in my 30s, and through her began corresponding to Swedish relatives. One, Anne Aberg, took pictures of the le Procope Cafe in Paris, which is the site of a scene I’m using in my historic romance novel. During our correspondence, I receive letters written in Swedish, for which I have had a series of interesting persons translate. Currently, a friend, Roy Perrson, is my translator. 

     I only met my grandmother when I was so little I cannot recall knowing her. Due to my parent’s divorce, my sister and I became “divorced” from my paternal relatives. I remet my aunt, Nyllis Cornell Gardner , when I was in my 30s, and through her began corresponding to Swedish relatives. One, Anne Aberg, took pictures of the le Procope Cafe in Paris, which is the site of a scene I’m using in my historic romance novel. During our correspondence, I receive letters written in Swedish, for which I have had a series of interesting persons translate. Currently, a friend, Roy Perrson, is my translator.

     Germany would be an interesting country to visit, because I only recently learned that I have German ancestors. The one time I visited Germany (Munich) I did not know this, and so did not make the most of my visit. I enjoyed my time in Munich, and would not mind visiting there again. Plus, we co-hosted a German exchange student beginning a month after our return from Germany. A link to his story is listed below. Another link-in-progress includes pictures taken in Germany at the Amerika House during the Florida vote recount during the President Bush election.

     I learned I have ancestors in France through genealogy research. Louis des Isles lived in Trenton (now Lamoine), Maine, in the 1790s. Doing this research brought me to the historic aspect of my historical romance novel, Intertwined Love.

     Louis’ profile can be read on the link on the link list below, as can the synopsis of the novel, Intertwined Love. There is a link to the le Procope Café in Paris, which includes a couple of the pictures of the  taken by Ann Aberg.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

PROCOPE CAFÉ, PARIS: Part 1—Finding photographs: An International Adventure

David, Our German Exchange Student: Part 1

Enoch Arden and Louis des Isles: Story Plots: http://intertwinedlove.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/enoch-arden-and-louis-des-isles-story-plots/

Intertwined Love: The Novel: http://intertwinedlove.wordpress.com/intertwined-love-the-novel/

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

 TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

2 Comments »

  1. Interesting. Nice to read your post. Moreover, because you join the postaday challenge from WordPress.com too. Keep blogging.

    Lambertus – Indonesia

    Comment by Lambertus Wahyu Hermawan — January 1, 2011 @ 12:03 pm | Reply

  2. Thank you, Lamburtus, for your nice comment, and your encouragement. Carolyn

    Comment by carolyncholland — January 1, 2011 @ 5:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

