Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

February 14, 2011

Desert Storm: How it Affected My Life


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

DESERT STORM: HOW IT AFFECTED MY LIFE

Twenty years ago, on January 15, 1991, a war began with General H. Norman Schwarzkoph Jr. leading what today is known as Desert storm.

     Our family didn’t experience any fatalities in the war—in fact, no family members were in the battle zone. However, the war did cause me distress beyond the horrors of war, and it did affect  a dream and hope I had.

     Our son Nolan was three days shy of turning nineteen on that fateful day. He was a college student studying at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. There was discussion about the return of the draft, which was a real concern. I’m a mother. Selfishly, I didn’t want to send my son to war.

     During the fall my husband and I had planned an extensive trip. The global meeting of the United Methodist Church was to be in Africa. We would attend that, and then visit Singapore, where a friend, Hung Pheng, lived. He was a former student at Slippery Rock University, and we were his host parents. From there, we planned on visiting friends in Jordan. Our timing was such that we would attend their son’s wedding in a Coptic ceremony.

     Then the war started.

     I remember standing beside Monte’s desk, telling him I was too big a chicken to attempt the trip at this time. The war made everything unstable. I just lacked the courage, and backed out. He agreed, and the trip was off.

     Wars change lives and plans. The draft wasn’t reinstated.  But I’ll always regret the loss of this opportunity. But later, I heard how unsafe it was for Americans in the Mideast, and realized we’d made the right decision.

     Each year when I hang a yellow Desert Storm commemorative ribbon on our Christmas tree I think of that war. I also think of all the changed, wasted lives brought about by war. And I wonder if we will ever have peace on earth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

FEBRUARY DAYS TO CELEBRATE

Rhode Island: Part 1

Watching the 2000 Election from Munich, Germany

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

