Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

February 18, 2011

February’s Prelude to Spring


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

February 18, 2011—noon: 60 degrees, overcast but slightly sunny, breezy

FEBRUARY’S PRELUDE TO SPRING

     It won’t last.

     Yesterday, February 17, teased its way through the day, creating a prelude to spring.

     But as I sat, momentarily, at my computer, I listened to the drip…drip…drip of ice melting off our rooftop, heard birds chirping away; saw the shadows cast by the sun shining on tall trees, noticed the remnant snow piles and ice pieces floating in small pockets of water; smelled the freshly revealed wet earth; felt the potting soil as I stood at my potting table transplanting two plants, sensed the cold wet of the snow on the ramp to our porch— I was not under the illusion that Old Man Winter has released his hold on my corner of the world. I know this break in the bitter cold and constant snowfalls of December and January is merely a break in the weather. When the Old Man reappears, I won’t be surprised.

     Thus, as I watched the small birds flitter among the apple tree branches, I wanted to tell them It’s too early to be nesting for your 2011 family. Spring really hasn’t arrived. February is just teasing you. Enjoy this break while you can, sing to me while I too rejoice in this prelude to spring.  

     As in all years, this winter will come to an end. The trees will bud, the birds will make nests, the flowers will bloom. And the warm rays of spring will finally arrive.

     But yesterday, I let Mother Nature entice me away from the computer, out into the world, where my face could collect the rays of sun that help build up my bodily supply of Vitamin D. My writing waited until dusk, when I returned to its tasks, refreshed and revitalized.

     And I welcomed, greeted, the sun and the 58 degree noon temperature. Bye-bye computer! See you later!

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

FEBRUARY DAYS TO CELEBRATE

A Weekend in State College, Pennsylvania: Part 1

Battling squirrels at bird feeders II: to fight or join them

Found: Flash Drive. What should I do?

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

