Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

March 11, 2011

Three Twilight Definitions. Or Are There Four?


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

THREE TWILIGHT DEFINITIONS.

OR ARE THERE FOUR?

     The newspaper clipping I found listed three definitons of twilight:    

  • Civil twilight is when streetlights are supposed to go on.
  • Nautical twilight is when the horizon disappears.
  • Astronomical twilight is when the faintest stars come out.*

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

          To this twilight list, I would like to add another: human twilight. Human twilight is when a person reaches the later years of life.

   ~~~~~~~~~~~~

     These definitions all seem gray to me, rather than black and white. When does one determine that street lights are turned on? When does the horizon disappear? When do the faintest stars come out?

     And when does a person reach the twilight years of life?

     The latter definition, I would think, would be determined by the date of a person’s death. Therefore, a person’s twilight years cannot be determined until after their death.

     If I randomly choose to define the twilight years of my life as being five years before I die, then, if I had died at the age of fifty-five years of age, the twilight years would have been between age fifty and fifty-five.

     However, I have lived over ten years longer than age fifty. Am I in my “twilight years?” Nobody knows, by my definition. If I only live another five years, or less, the answer is yes. However, if I were to live another twenty years, the answer is no.

     Aah, since the twilight years are traditionally considered the time to sit in a rocking chair and reflect on the life one has lived, then I am sorely remiss if I am in my twilight years. I have a to-do, to-accomplish, list too long to record here.

     I certainly hope I am not in my twilight years. Someday, you will know if I am. Hopefully I have sufficient time left to accomplish a few items on my to-do list.

     How about you? Are you in your “twilight years?”

SOURCE

An unidentified newspaper clipping found in a pile of papers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

March days to celebrate

RAINBOW’S END Part 1

IN NEW ENGLAND, HISTORY CONFLICTS WITH PROGRESS

GENERATIONS OF BLESSINGS #26

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

