Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

April 1, 2011

A Harmless April Fool’s Day Prank

Filed under: HOLIDAYS,JOURNALING & MEMOIRS — carolyncholland @ 1:00 am

CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

AN APRIL FOOL’S DAY PRANK

     I haven”t pulled a decent April Fool’s Day joke in forever. That is, until this year.

     To me a decent prank must be believeable and harmless. One year I told my sister that my daughter was pregnant. My sister reminded me of that when she heard of the joke I pulled this year.

     Several of us have begun gathering one weekend day for a simploe dinner and lots of socialization. No responsibility. Taking turns preparing something. It’s fun and offers an opportunity to know each other better.

     This year, we happened to gather on April 1.

     I spent most of the day trying to figure out a decent prank. Then the proverbial lightbulb lit the room. I went to an upstairs dresser drawer and pulled out a full leg removeable cast I wore while recovering from a broken leg. Then I went to my medicine chest and collected a wrap for my wrist. Next, I had to concoct a story, which I did with the help of a neighborhood youth.

     When Joanne picked me up, she saw me limping.

     “Yes, I am limping,” I confirmed, as I tried unsuccessfully to climb into her front seat. “I broke my leg this afternoon.”

     “Oh, no. How did it happen?”

     “I went over to feed the neighbor’s dog, and she ran in front of me and tripped me.”

     “How did you manage to get into the house?”

     “Monte was outside and heard me yelling.  We spent the afternoon at the hospital.”

     I limped into Mary’s house. Of course, I was treated like royalty. Soeone poured me a glass of wine, I was brought a hassock for my leg to rest on, and served my meal. What fun! No one suspected a thing!

     About three-uarters fo the way through the evening, I quietly began to unwrap my wrist. The women shocked looks increased as they watched me unhitch my cast.

     “What are you doing?” they queried.

     I stood up and began dancing around.

     “April Fools!” I said.

     “We’ll get you! We’ll never believe you again!”

     So much for the successful prank. It was great!

     Now, what can I pull next year?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

