Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

April 17, 2011

A Perfectly Wonderful, Marvelous April Weekend


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

A PERFECTLY WONDERFUL, MARVELOUS APRIL WEEKEND

     It was a marvelous weekend here in the Ligonier Valley of Southwestern Pennsylvania. Well, almost marvelous.

     Friday evening I enjoyed a light dinner at the Ligonier Tavern with my friend Peg, after which we went to a very well-performed production at Ligonier Theater by the Ligonier Valley Players. The cast did a tremendous job.

     Later that evening the winds began to howl. On Saturday we went about six hours without electricity. I worked on a jigsaw puzzle, used up most of the battery power on my laptop, then cleaned some. By dark we were using old-fashioned lanterns, but by 7:30 p.m. the power returned.

     On Sunday morning I heard Dr. Joshua Searle-White speak. He teaches in the psychology department at Allegheny College in Meadville, Pennsylvania. His talk on trying to reach the depth was quite worthwhile hearing.

     The storms were over. It was a reasonably warm, semi-sunny day.

     In the afternoon, my husband Monte and I headed to the St. Vincent College Camerta, a Passion Sunday concert. My friend Joanne was in the chorus, contributing to the wonderful music. Several persons from the writers group and Laurel Mountain Borough were there in addition to Joanne, Monte and myself. Other Beanery Writers Group members who attended were Pat, Jan and Nona. We all ended up celebrating at the restaurant at the airport in Latrobe—although Pat celebrated with her family.

     I topped off my day by watching the movie The Shunning while folding laundry and picking up the television room.

     And so, as I do my posting, another weekend comes to a close. And, I might add, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. A fitting end to the time a flu bug has stolen from me.

     Perhaps now it’s time to return to my writing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~    

ADDITIONAL READING:

The Church Role in Child Abuse Issues

Ocean Views: The New England Coast

The Conestoga Wagons and Wagoners: Thomas Read

Memorable Job Interviews

A Theological Perspective on Child Abuse

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

