Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

April 23, 2011

Envisioning 100 Calories


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

ENVISIONING 100 CALORIES

100 calories. What does it look like?*

     The title of the news article intrigued me. Even though I do not intend to become a calorie counter, it made me wonder: Just what does 100 calories look like?

     Of course, my curiousity made me read on.

     The article listed items and their calorie count culled from the USDA National Nutrient Database and food labels. I looked at the foods that are regular staples in my diet.

     Just the other day I hankered for a fluffernutter. Whole wheat bread and crunchy peanut butter. A good mix, balanced protein. One tablespoon of smooth peanut butter equals 94 calories, but I use about two tablespoons. To complete the fluffernutter add a scoop of marshmallow fluff. I wonder how many calories for that? Oh, well. Ummmm ummm good. Fortunately, I only get a craving for this treat on rare occasions. And when I do, I watch my calories the remainder of the day. But I don’t count them.

     I have to keep dry roasted peanuts out of our house. When they are here, I reach in and grab a half a dozen at a time numerous times a day. About sixteen nuts equal 99 calories. I probably eat about thirty-two in a day.

     It doesn’t have to be peanuts. I like dry roasted almonds, too. And I read that eating six at bedtime helps with sleep. About thirteen almonds equals 99 calories.

     When I make a fruit play I include an apple. One medium apple contributes 95 calories.

     Spinach is one of my favorite vegetables. I can cook and eat a ten ounce package in one sitting. That’s 65 calories. More if I add a dressing for a different flavor.

     So if I eat an apple for a mid morning snack, a fluffernutter for lunch, spinach for dinner, and six almonds at bed time I accrue 596 calories. However, that doesn’t count the whole wheat bread, marshmallow fluff, and dressing. 

     Nor does it count other foods, like my morning coffee with cream, breakfast cereal with a banana and soy milk, and dinner (whatever accompanies the spinach). However, I generally choose basic nutritious foods in moderate amounts. In spite of that, I must remember the following: The Mayo Clinic points out that to work off 100 calories (if you weigh 160 pounds): Cycle or play volleyball (about 20 minutes); bowl, ballroom dance or walk (about 30 minutes), or do low-impact aerobics (about 16 minutes).

     Still, it was interesting seeing what caloric counts some foods contribute to my diet.

SOURCE

*http://www.thesunnews.com/2011/04/20/2110959/100-calories-what-does-that-look.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

NEWSFLASH: MEN ARE WAITING FOR SOME SPECIAL POWER FROM JESUS

Who will take our church from us? Lent Devotion #30

A celebration of poetry in April

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

