Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

June 19, 2011

How To Bury Ashes At Sea


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

HOW TO BURY ASHES AT SEA

     I wish I’d had more knowledge that dusky evening when I risked my life trying to toss my uncle’s ashes into the Atlantic Ocean water at Wallis Sands Beach in Rye, New Hampshire.

     Since then, I’ve learned the Coast Guard will aid in this type of endeavor.  As will the Navy, which buried my father’s ashes in the ocean. A note telling the latitude and longitude of his burial site was sent to my sister, Kitty. She made certain I had a copy—not that I will at any time be visiting his burial site!

     Another retired Navy veteran’s ashes were sent from Westmoreland County to the Naval Station in Northfolk, Virginia, to fulfill his lifelong wish to be buried at sea. The military burial included a funeral address, flag presentation, and a 21-gun salute.

     This was the first request of this type received by the funeral home.

     Yes, Gilbert A. “Sam: Perrin Jr. and my father had their wishes fulfilled. And I wish I’d known there were alternatives to creeping as close to the edge of the well-rounded edge of the beach-side rock, risking my life to be as close to the water as possible, doing it at sunset when no one else was present—and experiencing a slight bit of ash being blown back into my face. Yes, I wish I’d known…

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

A Father-Daughter reunion after 30 years

Two Photographers Named Cornell

YOU MEAN THIS NEW ENGLANDER IS A WESTSYLVANIAN?

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

