Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

June 22, 2011

Parasomnia: New Word for the First Day of Spring


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

PARASOMNIA:

NEW WORD FOR THE FIRST DAY OF SPRING

     Yesterday was the first day of spring, and late morning, with its reigning humidity that leaves me feeling like I’m cocooned in a cloud (or relaxing in a sauna), was sunny.

     While reading the paper on the patio I watched as a male cardinal was ground-feeding, something I’ve never observed this tye bird do. Then I noticed that the tray birdfeeder had loosened, dumping its contents onto the ground.

     After the cardinal spent more than several minutes groundfeeding, he trotted across the ramp to our patio. He didn’t fly away when I spoke to him. OK,I do speak to the birds—I want to desensitize them to my voice so that when I am talking to someone they don’t panic and fly away.

     I turned back to the newspaper, where I learned a new word: parasomnia—a category of sleep disorders, specifically one that allows the sleeper to act out his dreams. It most commonly occurs in men older than 50.*

     So much for a day’s learning. The rest of the day was spent organizing my papers, writing, and cleaning out the refrigerator. What a day!

SOURCE

*Annie’s Mailbox pp. D7

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

Bird Attack! Dive bombing birds attack humans!

Newspaper Acrostic: June 12, 2010

Swedish Curses

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

