Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

July 23, 2011

Traveling in the July 2011 Heat Wave


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

TRAVELING IN THE JULY 2011 HEAT WAVE

     What were you doing at 5:o5 a. m. this morning?

     I’ll tell you what my husband Monte and I did. We started the last part of a two week trip from our Laurel Mountain Borough, Pennsylvania home to his family reunion in DeKalb, New York. On the way home, we visited my sister Nancy’s home in Lancaster, New York. It was from her home that we started the last lap of our travel.

    The newspaper headline I read later this afternoon,  Dangers lurk for everything under the sun,  will clue you into why we were on the road at such an ungodly hour: This year’s July heat wave began Wednesday, July 20. When we left Northern New York to travel to Buffalo on July 21, we started out just after 7:00 a. m. It was wonderfully cool traveling until later in the day, when the temperatures became—well, unbearably hot.

     I found myself awake at 4: 30 a. m. this morning, July 23, and knew if I fell back asleep it could only be for a short time. Then Monte made noises indicating he too was awake. Why, I asked him, don’t we just leave now? He agreed, and we were off and running—we just weren’t bushy-tailed, so to speak.

     Our plan worked. It wasn’t until late morning that the temperature became unbearable. We arrived home at 12:15 p.m. As I sit here at the computer at 5:00 p. m. I’m thankful I’m home and that I didn’t have to travel during the heat of the day.

     And yes, Monte and I did take a nap to catch up on our lost sleep. Far better to be napping in our own home on a hazy, 90-plus degree July afternoon than being imprisoned in a tin can moving 55 miles per hour down a sun-scorched highway.

     So as I post this, I plan on visiting with some gal-pals, sharing conversation and food with them. Tomorrow morning I will unpack. Perhaps I will even wake up at 4: 30-5:00 a. m. so I can complete the task during the coolest part of another hot, July day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

Water’s Dangers Should Be Heeded

Jane

Banned: The Mercury Thermometer

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

