Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

August 27, 2011

Making a Living by Writing: High-Earning Authors


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

MAKING A LIVING BY WRITING:

HIGH-EARNING AUTHORS

     A quiz, Jeopardy style: 

Answer: This author earned eighty four million in the year to April 2011, making him the best-paid author.

          Question: Who is James Patterson?

Answer: This author earned less than half of what James Patterson earned in the year to April 2011.

         Question: Who is Danielle Steel?

Answer: This author earned one third of what James Patterson earned in the year to April 2011.

          Question: Who is Stephen King?

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     This is how much the top writers earn, according to Forbes magazine, even in a market where bookshops are closing and sales, of books at least, are tumbling: by 23% for hardbacks last year.

     The question of making money by writing is in frequent discussion in the circles of people I associate with. Most just want to make a living with their writing, but without a main income source they might be on welfare.

     I, too, would like to make money with my writing. The time I was best paid was when I worked as a night fill-in at a human service youth shelter, where I was only expected to be the required “second body.” I considered the six to seven hours of writing while being paid to sit in a hallway a good salary, especially since, at the time, I was freelancing with a newspaper—which paid me for the articles I wrote.

     Then there is the dream of having a money-making novel. For me, the novel I am writing would have to be a best seller, because any profit will have to consider the expenses I’ve put into it—at least three visits to New England, one to Philadelphia, road trips to the National Road (exploring Braddock Road and the Nemacolin Indian Trail)—and all the copying and scanning of documents, papers, and book pages.

     My husband calls it a labor of love. Perhaps it is, since it has taken so much research and writing time. But will I make millions of dollars on the finished product? Therein is the seed to the dream.

     I think I will just be happy if people read, enjoy, and learn from the book. For now, off I go to do some more historic novel writing. Be back later!

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

WHAT IS THE KEY INDICATOR TO YOUR WRITING SUCCESS?

THIS ARTICLE IS BEING SUBMITTED WHERE?

MORALITY IN WRITING

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

