Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

August 31, 2011

Hot (Gas) Air Balloon: On My Bucket List?


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

HOT (GAS) AIR BALLOON RIDE:

ON MY BUCKET LIST?

     I’ve never done it.

     I’ve written about it. I’ve thought about it.

     Sixty residents of Concordia at Cabot, a senior care facility along Marwood Road in Cabot, Pennsylvania, did it.

     I must put it on my bucket list of things to do before I die. Then I must surf the Internet to find out how to accomplish it.

     Leona Zitzman, 88, a former Green Tree and Scott resident, said a balloon ride wasn’t something she always wanted to do. But when the Concordia staff made the opportunity available she and her friends decided to go for it.

     “Because I’m nuts,” Zitzman said, laughing heartily*.

     I, too, am nuts. I think like Nellie McGary, 80—the question isn’t why do it, but why not?

     “You might not get another chance,” she said. “I think we’re more free to be adventurous. We’ve already done everything important that we’re going to do.”

     If I put taking a ride in a hot air balloon I’ll have to surf the Internet to see if it’s possible to do locally. I’ll have to decide where I would like to travel in the balloon. My husband Monte and I have taken plane rides over Lamoine, Maine and     New York. We’ve taken a helicopter ride over Connellsville, Pennsylvania.

     And yes, I will take my camera with me, like I did in the airplane and helicopter rides.

     But most of all, I’m like Zitzman, who noted that the reason she took the balloon ride: I’m young at heart that’s why. I try to enjoy myself. You’re never too old for anything. Old is only a number, an age… You’ve got to keep enjoying yourself

     Amen!

     Now, where did I put my bucket list?

SOURCE

*http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/valleynewsdispatch/s_753123.html

 

ADDITIONAL READING:

BLANCHARD: THE FIRST PROFESSIONAL AERONAUT

AMERICA’S FIRST MANNED HOT AIR BALLOONAmerica’s First Manned Gas Balloon Ride

THUNDER MOUNTAIN LENAPE NATION POWWOW

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

