Carolyn's Daily Posts: 2011

November 28, 2011

Enjoy Coffee in Moderation


CAROLYN’S DAILY POSTS: 2011

ENJOY COFFEE IN MODERATION

     I was in my thirties before I began drinking coffee. I started the habit when I was leading domestic violence group meetings at my dining room table, and attendees forbade me from making their coffee. My schedule was so tight that I succumbed to drinking coffee during the meetings, and discovered it helped me with a physical problem.

     Since then, I have enjoyed one cup of coffee each morning while I read the daily newspaper.

     Then came the time that I spent the weekend in the hospital. I’d had symptoms of heart problems that they weren’t going to address until Monday. I was admitted Friday evening.

     Disaster! I wasn’t allowed a cup of coffee on the cardiac floor. Nor was I allowed to leave the floor to get some. Nor was anyone allowed to bring in a cup for me.

     When I was discharged and went home, my physical condition that coffee averted was full blown. I was angry.

     I read an article later on a study that showed one to three cups of coffee will not harm cardiac patients. I became angry again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     For most people a morning cup of java isn’t harmful. It’s that old and sage rule: all things in moderation.

     If you rely on coffee to get you out of bed, to stave off midmorning headaches and to avoid the 3 p.m. crash, you could be hooked on one of the most popular drugs in the world. Almost 90 percent of American adults drink coffee on a regular basis. More than 50 percent of adults, meanwhile, consume just more than three cups of coffee a day.*

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     Now, give me back my cup of coffee!

SOURCE:

*How to kick the caffeein habit, tip sheet, Greensburg Tribune-Review, Oct. 31, 2011, pp D2

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING (with your morning cup of java):

Seven Billion People on Planet Earth

What Happened to Ada Jane Groomes?

 ARE YOU PUNISHING OR DISCIPLINING YOUR CHILD?

A House Frau Loses the Soap All My Children

An Undisclosed Party Guest Turns 70 in 2011

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

